Elena Chimonas' Blog

Photographic Inspirations

Coming to a conclusion

After researching into Text and Image and looking closely at the artists and photographers that use text in their work, I notice that I am being drawn down the graphic design style of working. Artists such as Barbara Kruger and Banksy use Text in very different ways but both have strong distinctive ways of producing art that I am extremely interested in. I have also noticed that not many photographers use additional text in their work unless they are photographing it. I would like to change this idea that photographers have to work in a certain way. I would like to add a slight graphic design twist to my Rugby Union images whilst keeping the essence of the sport intact. The strength and energy of the players will still be in the photograph but the images will be presented in a different way than I originally thought.

So my conclusion is that I will be taking the images from my recent studio shoots and applying the images onto an urban backdrop (inspired by Banksy) and in photoshop will be experimenting with brushes and layers to create my desired graphic design look. Text will then be added on top of the image to give the viewer more information.

Leave a Reply

